lockport winery

flight of five winery

Year 2015
FLIGHT OF FIVE WINERY named BUSINESS OF THE YEAR FOR 2015!
We have been honored as Business of the Year 2015 at Niagara Small Business Day!
Many thanks to our patrons and NIAGARA USA!

September, 2015
PAINT & TASTE! Check Facebook to see our next painting!
Call and reserve your easel! 716 433-3360

NIAGARA WINE TRAIL EVENT HOURS
Please note the change in business hours during wine trail events.
Friday noon - 5 PM, Saturday 10 AM - 5 PM, Sunday noon - 5 PM
2015 events: HARVEST FESTIVAL- Sept. 25-27 & HALLOWINE MURDER MYSTERY- Oct. 23-25

August &- September
MUSIC UNCORKED CONTINUES!
August 21st & September 18th!

Find a listing of locations our wines are available with event information.

MAY - DECEMBER
REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS!
We will be open noon to 7 PM daily.

August 2015 at the NY State Fair!
Competition Results!
See events page for details!

 
Stepping into 2 Pine Street offers a glimpse back in time. A charming alternative to expectations of what a winery looks like and where it is likely to be located. Lockport’s Urban Winery is located inside Old City Hall. Already I am ahead of myself.

Flight of Five Winery is named in honor of the spectacular engineering feats accomplished in Lockport in the 1820’s, the series of locks known as the Flight of Five, numbering Lock 67 through Lock 71. The only twin set of five locks built in the world. The ingenuity, skill and labor brought here to accomplish this afforded extensive development in the days to come and 2 Pine Street was in the thick of it.

The opportunity to share our interest in wine and the history of this waterway that changed the face of our nation was too good to pass up. Having spent the last 15 years exploring canal towns across New York State in our spare time and working in the local wine industry for the last decade, we find ourselves in an ideal place to combine these passions. This was a gift.

After all...Lockport needed an urban winery and we needed more time to explore the Erie Canal while making the wine we love and showcasing the bounty of agriculture that Western New York has to offer.

We invite you to join us in the tasting room to sample our wines, to enjoy local foods paired specifically with them and to discover a small part of what this region has to offer, through it’s wines, cuisine and rich history.

See you soon,
Jackie & Mike Connelly
Owners of Flight of Five Winery



Friend us on facebook!


Built in 1864, the Benjamin C Moore Mill diverted excess water from the Erie Canal and used it to power the grist mill. In 1884 the building was purchased by Birdsill Holly, local inventor and extremely clever fellow (second only to Thomas Edison in the number of US patents he registered.) Holly worked to develop his ideas about pumping water throughout the city. One of the patents he worked on here was a system of direct pressure water supply for fire protection in cities and towns. We call them fire hydrants. In 1893, the City of Lockport purchased the building and made it City Hall. At that time an addition was built to house the Courtroom. Now it houses the winery.


erie canal winery
WebEssentials Website Design & Hosting ~
Photography by Dennis Stierer